Olympic and World champions to meet in World Cup


There was plenty of attention in the Men's World Cup drawing of lots

Tokyo, Japan, June 22, 2015 – Olympic champions Russia and FIVB Volleyball World Championship gold medallists Poland will meet in the opening pool of the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Cup later in 2015.

Russia won gold at the London 2012 Olympic Games, while Poland claimed the world crown in front of their home fans in 2014. At the most recent World Cup in 2011, Russia won gold and Poland claimed silver, while the then world champions Brazil won bronze. 

The World Cup takes place across Japan from September 8 – 23 and features 12 sides including the hosts and the world and two teams from each continental confederation. 

Russia and Poland are paired in Pool B in the first round and will also take on Argentina, Iran, Venezuela and an African representative (CAVB1) in Hamamatsu. 

FIVB Volleyball World League champions USA lead the way in Pool A, which takes place in Hiroshima. John Speraw’s team will face hosts Japan, World League bronze medallists Italy, Australia, Canada and the second African representative (CAVB2).

There are 30 matches in the first round, which take place over five days. Teams are divided into two pools of six teams. 

In the second and third rounds teams play three other teams they had not previously played over six days and 36 matches. 

At the end of the competition the medals go to the top three teams. The winners and runners-up also earn a place at the Rio de Janeiro 2016 Olympic Games. 

FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Cup, Japan 2015 – Pool Draw
1st Round
September 8 
Pool A – USA v Australia, Japan v CAVB 2, Canada v Italy
Pool B – Poland v CAVB 1, Russia v Venezuela, Argentina v Iran
September 9
Pool A – Australia v Italy, CAVB 2 v Canada, USA v Japan 
Pool B – CAVB 1 v IRI, Venezuela v Argentina, Poland v Russia
September 10
Pool A – Japan v Australia, Canada v USA, Italy v CAVB 2
Pool B – Russia v CAVB 1, Argentina v Poland, Iran v Venezuela
September 12
Pool A – Australia v CAVB 2, USA v Italy, Japan v Canada  
Pool B – CAVB 1 v Venezuela, Poland v Iran, Russia v Argentina
September 13
Pool A – Canada v Australia, CAVB2 v USA, Italy v Japan
Pool B – Argentina v CAVB 1, Iran v Russia, Venezuela v Poland

2nd Round
September 16
Pool A – USA v Venezuela, Italy v Iran, Japan v CAVB 1 
Pool B – Canada v Poland, Australia v Russia, CAVB 2 v Argentina
September 17
Pool A – USA v Iran, Italy v CAVB 1, Japan v Venezuela
Pool B – Canada v Russia, Australia v Argentina, CAVB 2 v Poland
September 18
Pool A – USA v CAVB 1, Italy v Venezuela, Japan v Iran 
Pool B - Canada v Argentina, Australia v Poland, CAVB 2 v Russia

3rd Round
September 21
Pool A – USA v Poland, Italy v Russia, Japan v Argentina
Pool B – Canada v Venezuela, Australia v Iran, CAVB 2 v CAVB 1
September 22
Pool A – Italy v Argentina, Japan v Poland, USA v Russia
Pool B – CAVB2 v Venezuela, Canada v Iran, Australia v CAVB1
September 23
Pool A – Italy v Poland, Japan v Russia, USA v Argentina
Pool B – CAVB2 v Iran, Canada v CAVB1, Australia v Venezuela


All the News